What’s the story morning glory?   Leave a comment

This is my first blog and I can already feel that this might get a little bit out of control. I keep reminding myself that this is for class, not for fun. And that’s where I get confused.

Satire is fun, right?

So class should be fun?

Therefore, blogging should fun.Glad that’s out of the way.

Now we can talk about me!

Name: Hillary Ann Plocheck

Best thing since frozen yogurt: MUSIC

Currently listening to: Wolf Gang (Check him out!)

Goals for this class: Receive a 4.0 so I can spend next fall and spring semester studying abroad in England.

I’m here because: I plan to minor in both Rhetoric and Government

Sadly, I must admit that my experience with satire isn’t too broad. Like the average Joe, I’ve seen SNL, Mad TV, and other sketches. I started reading Catch 22, but I wasn’t hooked so the book has officially been added to the collection of “I keep these books in my room because they make me look smart”. However, one of my recent favorites would have to be Glee. Glee is satirical you say? Why, yes! Have you heard some of the things that come out of Sue Sylvertser’s mouth?

“You may be two of the stupidest teens I’ve ever encountered — and that’s saying something. I once taught a cheerleading seminar to Sarah Palin.”
— to Brittany and Santana in “Hell-O”

PRICELESS.
I consider myself blessed with a bit of sarcastic wit, as well. My mother most likely wouldn’t say blessed though. I, like her, have the uncanny knack of turning the arguments back on the instigator. I’m fully aware that I wasn’t as easy kid growing up.

Then again, the truly brilliant are always a challenge.

May the force be with you,

Hillary Ann

Posted August 31, 2011 by hillaryplocheck in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

